When staff members leave or business circumstances change, you might need to remove users from your system. With Current RMS, you’re in total control of your user accounts – no need to contact us to make changes.

ℹ️
Here because of the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic?

We understand that the industry has been hard-hit during this time. If you’re looking to temporarily reduce your subscription costs, we recommend that you make accounts inactive rather than deleting them. This means that you can re-instate those accounts at a later point.

Get started

Head to System Setup > Users to make changes to your user accounts.

Only admin users have access to System Setup. Ask the person who manages Current RMS at your company if you don’t have permission.

What happens when you deactivate?

In most cases, we recommend making accounts inactive rather than deleting them.

When you make an account inactive:

  • you won’t be billed for this account going forward.
  • it can’t be used to access your Current RMS system any more.
  • the account remains on the system and associated with records, so you can see that the account created or updated information.
  • you may make it active again in future, effectively re-instating it.

Making an account is inactive is best if you’re going to add the user again in future. For example, if you have temporary staff who join you during your busy season or a team member is on maternity leave.

Deactivate an account

Edit a user and set the “Active” toggle to NO. Update the account.

What happens when you delete?

Delete an account if you’re sure that this person isn’t coming back to work for you. 

⚠️   Deleting a user account is irreversible.

When you delete an account:

  • you won’t be billed for this account going forward.
  • it can’t be used to access your Current RMS system any more.
  • the account is anonymized, so actions they took on the system will show as coming from “Deleted user account” and a random number.
  • you cannot make this account active again or de-anonymize it.

Deleting a user account is best if you have an obligation to remove this person’s data under GDPR or similar local privacy laws. You may make an account inactive, then delete it later if you’d like to retain the account for some time after a person has left your company.

Delete an account

Choose Delete from the menu next to an account to delete it.

What about ownership of previous data?

Some pages in Current RMS let you choose an owner, e.g. you may set an owner of an opportunity or organization. This defaults to the user account that created it.

Inactive and deleted accounts can’t be owner users. If you edit an account that was previously owned by an inactive or deleted account, you’ll need to choose a new owner from the drop-down.

What about discussions?

When you make an account inactive, it’s automatically muted as a participant in discussions. While muted, the account won’t receive notifications for replies to discussions.

When you delete an account, it shows in the participants list under its anonymized account name. We no longer have an email address on file for the account, so we don’t send notifications for replies.

Before making an account inactive or deleting it, it’s worth reviewing any ongoing discussions. Where the only user participant in a discussion is an account that you’re going to make inactive or delete, add another user participant to it. If you don’t do this, you might miss replies to the thread. 

How does billing work?

Whether you mark an account as inactive or delete it, you won’t be charged for it going forward. You’re only billed for active users.

If you’re on our monthly plan, the change in users count will be reflected in your next month’s invoice. On our annual plan, it’ll be reflected on your next annual invoice.

On our annual plan, you prepay for the year ahead, locking in a discount of two months over paying month-to-month. Since we offer a significant discount, we don’t offer refunds or credits for users that you’ve made inactive or deleted on the annual plan. 

Where you’ve paid for a user on the annual plan, then deleted it or made it inactive, you may add another user account or re-instate the inactive account without another invoice being raised. 

See: Current RMS refund policy

Need help?

We’re here to help with any questions. Start a chat with us using the green help bubble at the bottom-right ↘️

Did this answer your question?