Product Groups are a bit like folders for your products. You can filter by product group in Resources > Products and in the picker on an opportunity. When you add products to an opportunity, they’re added in groups based on their product groups.

There’s no limit on the number of product groups you can create, but it’s a good idea not to create too many and keep them high-level.

For further searching and sorting, you can always tag your products.

Add new product groups

When creating a product

The easiest way to create a product group is to create a product and choose (create a group) from the option in the product group drop-down menu. Then, pop in the new group name.

While importing products

If you’re importing products, simply enter any new product groups you wish to create in the “Product Group” column heading. The import tool will create any product groups that don’t exist.

Import product groups

If you like, you can complete a product group import.

Via System Setup

Add new product groups by going to System Setup > Product groups. Click the add product group button and fill out the fields.

  • Name
    The name of your product group.
  • Description
    A description for your reference.
  • Image
    An image for your reference.

When you’re done, hit the blue Create product group button.

Edit product groups

To edit product groups, head to System Setup > Product Groups, find the product group that you’d like to change in the list and click the blue arrow to the right. Choose Edit from the menu.

Delete product groups

You can only delete product groups once they’re empty, i.e. when there are no products in them. If the group you wish to delete isn’t empty, edit products in Resources > Products to move them to other groups.

To edit product groups, head to System Setup > Product Groups, find the product group that you’d like to change in the list and click the blue arrow to the right. Choose Delete from the menu.

Common questions

What about services, where do I change service types?

Service types are used for grouping when adding services to an opportunity. They are stored as an editable list of values. To change, head to System Setup > List of values

Check out our guide for more: Add list of values and manage existing list options

Did this answer your question?